The Carr Center is thrilled to Livestream the National Endowment for the Arts 2021 Jazz Masters Tribute Concert, in collaboration with SFJAZZ. 

This special online-only concert will honor the 2021 NEA Jazz Masters — Albert “Tootie” Heath, Terri Lyne Carrington, Henry Threadgill and Phil Schaap. 

These four Champions of Jazz made the following statements about this once-in-a-lifetime recognition and our nation’s highest honor.

Albert  “Tootie” Heath: Percussionist, Educator

I am overwhelmingly honored to have been chosen as a Jazz Master and joining my brothers in this prestigious award.


Terri Lyne Carrington: Drummer, Composer, Educator 

This honor and distinction serve as a beautiful recognition of my dedication to preserving, promoting, and furthering this incredible art form of which I love dearly. I’m beyond thrilled to be acknowledged by the National Endowment for the Arts for my contribution to jazz as a drummer, composer, producer, and gender justice advocate. 

Henry Threadgill: Saxophonist, Flautist, Composer

This acknowledgment by the National Endowment for the Arts is an award that comes from the government. Recognizing one’s contribution to art at the highest level. It is an honor that I am thankful for.

Phil Schapp: Archivist, Educator, Historian

The National Endowment for the Arts began, including its gifts for jazz, at the time I first lectured on behalf of the art form. Now, at the other end of my teaching career, I am awed to be named by the Arts Endowment as a Jazz Master.

2017 NEA Jazz Master Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo will co-host this premiere event coordinated by Music Director, composer, and saxophonist Miguel Zenón, and will include performances by NEA Jazz Masters Wynton and Jason Marsalis and Dianne Reeves, as well as Obed Calvaire, Avishai Cohen, Joe Lovano, Pedrito Martinez, Linda May Han Oh, Danilo Pérez, Lizz Wright, and more. The event will also include appearances from NEA Jazz Masters Herbie Hancock, Charles Lloyd, and Wayne Shorter, as well as Jon Faddis, Michelle Kinney, Jason Moran, and James Mtume.

The concert will stream on the Carr Center YouTube LIVE and the Carr Center Facebook LIVE.