Carr Center Artistic Director Receives the Nation’s Highest Jazz Honor.

The National Endowment for the Arts  2021 Jazz Masters were awarded on April 22,2021.

Honored,among the four luminaries receiving this prestigious award, is Terri Lyne Carrington, our brilliant and gifted Artistic Director.  

Terri Lyne is one of the youngest NEA Jazz Masters ever recognized. She is founder of the Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice, and earlier this year she topped the DownBeat Critics Poll for best Jazz Artist; her ensemble Social Science was voted the Jazz Group of the year, and the group’s debut album, Waiting Game, won Jazz Album of the Year.

The NEA has been awarding this distinguished honor to great jazz artists since 1982. Past recipients have included the incomparable Ella Fitzgerald, Dianne Reeves, Chick Corea and Miles Davis.

The other outstanding honorees in the class of 2021 are avant-garde saxophonist HenryThreadgill, broadcaster Phil Shcaap, who will receive a special recognition for jazz advocacy and hard-bop drummer/educator Albert “Tootie” Heath.